Box Office Monthly Review: May 2014

?????????????????????????????????

Despite the fact that May had a lot of highly anticipated summer blockbusters and managed to cross the $1 billion mark for the fourth year in a row, this May was the lowest grossing that it has ever been since 2010. Don’t believe me? Well, the only film released in this last month that will easily cross the $200 million mark is X-Men: Days of Future Past, the seventh film in the long-running franchise.

Leading the way with grosses, but also probably the most disappointing of the bunch, was The Amazing Spider-Man 2. As of right now, it has around $193 million, which is around $54 million behind were The Amazing Spider-Man at this same point back in 2012. I think it’s safe to say that the Spider-Man has fallen off quite a bit. Sony might want to seriously consider making a deal to feature Spider-Man in the Avengers films, because it’s quite sad when a franchise that was once a juggernaut at the box office is now unable to outgross Thor: The Dark World.

GZ12211

Now onto Godzilla. After its phenomenal $93 million opening weekend gross, many were claiming how the film would be able to gross around $250 million when it was all said and done. Well, that was before they saw the film’s massive 67% drop in its second weekend. Now, the film will be struggling to reach $200 million, which is pretty embarrassing. That would mean that it managed to make half of its grosses on its opening weekend. Talk about front-loaded.

Like I said earlier, the only film that will comfortably cross the $200 million mark is X-Men: Days of Future Past. Many have called this installment yet another disappointment financially, but I don’t see that at all. Considering that the last two films managed to gross below $150 million and that this franchise was considered to be DOA, Days of Future Past opened much larger than I thought it was going to. And even if it doesn’t match X-Men: The Last Stand‘s final gross ($234 million), it’s still a win for the X-Men franchise.

What many people are claiming to be the “winner” this past month at the box office was the frat comedy Neighbors. The film has done a pretty good job, considering how it also fell off pretty far after its opening weekend (noticing a trend?). Other comedies in May failed to make much of an impression. Blended has only made $30 million after two weeks, and I’ll be surprised if A Million Ways to Die in the West even grosses much more than that. Meanwhile, Maleficent performed decently its opening weekend, but I doubt it’ll make its way over $200 million. But you never know. It might hold well this next weekend.

maleficent24

My Predictions vs. The Results
(My predictions can be found HERE)

“Final” numbers are predictions on how far they’ll actually make, not actually final yet.

The Amazing Spider-Man 2
My Prediction (Opening Weekend): $112.1 million
Actual Result (Opening Weekend): $91.6 million
My Prediction (Final): $275.7 million
Actual Result (Final): $200 million

Neighbors
My Prediction: (Opening Weekend): $33.8 million
Actual Result: (Opening Weekend): $49.0 million
My Prediction: (Final): $125.9 million
Actual Result: (Final): $150 million

Godzilla
My Prediction (Opening Weekend): $76.0 million
Actual Result: (Opening Weekend): $93.2 million
My Prediction (Final): $238.3 million
Actual Result: (Final): $195 million

X-Men: Days of Future Past
My Prediction (Opening Weekend): $80.9 million
Actual Result (Opening Weekend): $90.8 million
My Prediction (Final): $230.4 million
Actual Result (Final): $220 million

Blended
My Prediction (Opening Weekend): $29.6 million
Actual Result (Opening Weekend): $14.3 million
My Prediction (Final): $91.3 million
Actual Result (Final): $55 million

Maleficent
My Prediction (Opening Weekend): $49.0 million
Actual Result: (Opening Weekend): $69.4 million
My Prediction (Final): $155.4 million
Actual Result (Final): $180-$200 million

A Million Ways to Die in the West
My Prediction: (Opening Weekend): $24.7 million
Actual Result: (Opening Weekend): $16.7 million
My Prediction (Final): $72.1 million
Actual Result (Final): $40 million

Leave a Reply

