Jason Momoa Talks About Turning Down “Guardians of the Galaxy” Role

momoa-drax-guardians-02152013-154932

Sometime last year, actor Jason Momoa (Conan the Barbarian) was set to play Drax in the upcoming sci-fi epic from Marvel, Guardians of the Galaxy. Of course, that didn’t end up happening. Dave Bautista, the WWE fighter, will be playing Drax in the upcoming film. But, when asked if Momoa auditioned for the role, both he and director James Gunn (Slither) had denied that statement and claimed it just to be a rumor. Well, in a recent interview, Momoa not only says that he DID audition for the role of Drax, but that he also turned down the role as well.

In a recent sit-down with Zap2it, Momoa talks about his experience auditioning for the film and his thoughts on it and playing comic book characters in the future.

“I think it’s perfectly cast,” Momoa says of actor Dave Bautista.“Dave is perfect for that role, for Drax. It didn’t really fit in my time because I’ve done so many things where I don’t say much and I’m colored up and I have my shirt off again. I made a conscious choice to turn down some movies that were action-based to direct Road to Paloma so people could see that side.”

Momoa also sheds light on what it was like to audition with Chris Pratt, who plays Star-Lord, the lead of the movie.“One of the funnest auditions I’ve ever done in my life was with him. He’s phenomenal. He’s going to kill it. It’s going to be amazing,” Momoa says. “It’s a whole Han Solo vibe. It’s going to be a phenomenal movie. I’m glad that he is the lead of that. He’s funny as hell, man. He can improv; he just acts circles around me. It was really, really fantastic.”

Now onto why he didn’t take up the role of Drax. “I want my children to see their father happy. It’s not that it’s not a good role, it just wasn’t the right thing. I was on ‘Stargate: Atlantis’ for four years playing a similar character called Ronon, who was an alien who didn’t say much and grunted. I’ve been there and done that, whether people have seen it or not. You want to stretch.”

Momoa says that he’d like to tackle different films, such as comedies, in the near future. He also doesn’t rule out playing a comic book character in the future. “There’s definitely some, absolutely,” he says. “I was a huge comic book fan, and I still am.” He wouldn’t say who he’d like to play and jokes, “I’m not going to tell you the ones I collect, because then you’d know,”. There are rumors that he’s been talking to Warner Bros. for roles in their upcoming films, ranging from Aquaman to Lobo.

This interview was due to the fact that Momoa’s new show, The Red Road, premieres this Thursday on the Sundance Channel. I haven’t seen any footage from it, so I can’t comment on how it looks. Guardians of the Galaxy will be released August 1, 2014.

Leave a Reply

